Travel: Moroccan Heat – Day 2

Our second day in Morocco was no disappointment apart from one brief incident (mentioned later)…

We explored more of the Medina (the old town…

And met some of the residents… 

 

It was a big shopping day too as we explored the Souks (markets)…

 

Here is a photobomb from a Moroccan child…

 

Haggling the price is a big part of shopping here. They state a first high price and you suggest about a third and then you haggle from there. The main technique in Morocco is that they keep talking to convince you to pay more “this is hand made, good quality, not like this piece which is cheaper”. Walking away is a good technique to get them to lower the price if you hit a bit of a wall although once we walked away and they didn’t follow and I wanted the item so we had to go back with our tails between our legs and pay the last quoted price. The locals say I shop like a Berber – which means I don’t like to give away my money – apparently it’s a good thing!   

I bought a beautiful ring…

 

And a leather bag – Morocco is known for its leather goods …

  

We finished off the day with an incredibly relaxing Hammam – it’s a sauna experience where they wash you with black soap, scrub you down, wash you again and then give you a relaxing massage. Here I am all relaxed with massage oil in my hair!

   

I had a yummy Moroccan mint tea – they put tons of sugar in it – with a lovely view…

  

The one incident was a Moroccan teenager at around 7.30pm told us one of the gates to the Souk was closed so we would need to walk a different way. We had been warned by our hotel that locals might tell you things are closed to guide you another way and then ask for money for guiding you. We were told the best thing to do was say thank you but carry on walking and ignore them, which we did. However the boy clearly took a disliking to me and started shouting at me “are you deaf, can you understand English, it’s closed you can’t go that way”. Then he got in my face and kept repeating “do you want a problem”. It was pretty scary although my stand up comedy experience kicked in and I put on a tough front and treated him like a heckler. This wasn’t the best end to our day but I refused to let home ruin it. It’s Ramadan at the moment and Moroccans are fasting so I’ll put it down to ‘hanger’ – I wouldn’t be very nice if I hadn’t eaten for 12 hours either!

Leave a Reply

